Shady Grove Presbyterian Church gathered for the first worship service May 26, 1957. With 75 people joining in worship at Memphis University School, our church was born! On November 17th of the same year, the church was officially organized with 67 charter members. In 1958 ground was broken at the corner of Yates and Shady Grove, and in July of 1959 the church moved into its new home. The church building was designed by A. L. Aydelott, who has been called the “father of Memphis’s modern architecture.” The building remains a landmark of that architecture in the city.

The late sixties saw much racial strife in Memphis. In response, Shady Grove joined local faith communities in living out the Gospel in the world to form a non-profit, MIFA, that continues to provide support for the community. In addition, Shady Grove developed Girl’s and Boy’s scout programs, an athletic program, and vocational guidance programs.

Through the decades Shady Grove continued to grow and change to serve God in the world. The church is located in a beautiful residential neighborhood, near stores and restaurants, close to our Jewish neighbors, and with easy access to the interstate. At the corner of two lovely streets, Shady Grove cannot be missed, and our inclusive, whimsical signs continue to welcome visitors to our church.

While Shady Grove church gathers with rich history and in a landmark structure, the church is the people. And the people of Shady Grove always build upon the strong history of the church to serve God by reaching out in compassion to the larger community, worshiping God with creativity and reverence, growing in knowledge, and gathering in joy. Grounded in our history, guided by our faith, Shady Grove continues the rich history of being God’s church in this place.